Top Ten Saddest Songs

Tears in Heaven – Eric Clapton

Eric clapton wrote about his son, its real, there is nothing more devastating than losing your child, relationships mean nothing compared to looking at yourself in a tiny form,
and having to watch it die-

Hurt – Johnny Cash

This version of the song is simply genius. Though he didn’t write this song on his own, Johnny Cash performed it so deeply that you can feel the emotions in every little sound of this song. With his broken voice he appears as fragile as the meaning of this song is. Beautiful song. The one by NIN is good but this one just makes bawl every time.-

Yesterday – The Beatles

Whenever I feel down this song really lifts my spirits. Happiest song of all time!-

Wake Me Up When September Ends – Green Day

At first, I didn’t know what this song is about. After knowing at the meaning and the reason of Armstrong writing this song. I feel very sorry, the lyrics are so touching. It makes me feel sad every time I listen to it.-

Stan – Eminem

You shouldn’t do this, with the emotion, emergeness, EMINEM sings the song… REALLY makes me feel like he’s Stan..-

Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd

David Gilmour’s voice and the intro riff is pretty depressing.-

 

Mad World – Gary Jules

Such a sad song, most will know this from gears and Dom’s death, gears incorporated this song greatly. Its just such a sad but good song, and at the same time it gives me a good feeling that’s unexplainable.-

How to Save a Life – The Fray

The piano in this song makes me sad and happy at the same time-

Creep – Radiohead

Expresses the feelings that everyone gets at some point in their lives. If you haven’t heard it yet, listen to it and you’ll understand.-

Stairway to Heaven – Led Zeppelin

This song makes me sad but also very excited. I just love it! It’s easily one of the best Rock songs. And the lyrics feel so passionate! If you watch the live version, Robert (the lead singer) says, “You know, I feel like this song’s about hope.” Then the famous guitar riff hums it’s way in and the crowd is bawling and screaming their lungs out. And the live version is amazing as well. But this song overall is just so beautiful that it’s sad. I think that’s why I vote for it. It’s about the natures of life and how precious life itself is! Stairway to Heaven in my opinion is easily one of Led Zeppelin’s best works, and one of the best songs of all time. – MontyPython

Mother – John Lennon

Insanely sad song sang and written by an insanely talented songwriter.-

Dance With the Devil – Immortal Technique

Whining about relationships is not sad. Telling a story about a man whos dreams and inspirations led him to destroy and take his own life is sad.-

Hero of War – Rise Against

The first time I heard that song, I found it pretty boring because of the lack of speed and guitar an drums in it. Then the second time, I listene to the lyrics and aat the end I burst out crying in my pillow, cause I didn’t want my parents to see me. It’s the first time I cried in years! The lyrics are so powerful!-

Everybody Hurts – R.E.M.

This is the saddest song ever. I’ve listened to most of the songs on this list, and this is the only one which has me steadily crying throughout the whole song. Maybe it’s just me, but this is by far the saddest song I’ve ever heard. –

Under the Bridge – Red Hot Chili Pepper

Probably the best song of RHCP. The best lyrics which touches my heart every time I hear it!-

Dear Agony – Breaking Benjamin

I remember the song Blow Me Away was my first song of Breaking Benjamin, which I heard from a radio.I looked for more songs of him and I heard them, but when I heard this one I had no idea that Breaking Benjamin could be that sad.-

Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley

